Covet

“You’re so beautiful. . .” I crooned, my hand gliding out towards her face.

Others may describe her eyes as boring. Coffee brown with hazel brushed in in between. But, even more enchanting – the fragment of the sky in her left eye. Cerulean blue, baby blue, and navy, like a swimming pool under a summer sky.

She batted my hand away in a coiled leap and snarled.

Bright red blood burgeoned, a thin streak on my pale skin. My arm hung midair before I let it fall to my side.

My eyebrows knitted together. “Snowball! Do you know how much my arm is insured for?” I shook my head slowly, tsking. “You dead. You’ll be in so much debt, you dead.”

Leave a Reply

